Senate Confirms Buhari’s List Of NDDC Nominee, Reject Rivers Nominee


President Buhari’s List of NDDC Nominee, the Senate on Tuesday confirmed 15 nominees for the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC except for the Rivers State Representative.

You will recall that the Senate Committee on Niger Delta last week Thursday screened 14 out of the 16nominees submitted for confirmation by President Muhamnadu Buhari on Tuesday.

ALSO READ: -new-nddc-ag-md-gene-joi-nunieh-others-arrives-commission-dance-group/

The Senate at the confirmation of the 15 nominees observed that the Rivers Rep, Joi Nunieh failed to show up despite writing to invite her to appear.

The nominees where confirmed after Peter Nwoboshi, PDP, Delta chairman of the NDDC committee, presented a report to his colleagues.

At the presentation of his report on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday, Nwoboshi stated that all the nominees are eminently qualified to be on the board.

“All the nominees were screened and the outcome contained in the report,” he said.

According to him, “The committee finds that the qualifications of the nominees will impact the commission positively.”

However, he said Joy Yimebe Nunieh, nominee from Rivers state and interim managing director, did not show up for the screening exercise.

Commenting on the development, Enyinnaya Abaribe, senate minority leader, stated that since Nunieh did not appear for screening, she should not be confirmed.

Thereafter, the nominations were confirmed after a voice vote.

The Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, had set up an interim management team that would be in place for six months to oversee a forensic audit of the agency.

But Lawan said the new board, members should take over immediately according to the law setting up the NDDC.

He added that inaugurating the new board members would not affect the works of the forensic auditors.

Lawan asked the senate committee on the NDDC to be alive to its responsibility by carrying out its oversight functions.

First to be confirmed was a former Deputy Governor of Edo State, Dr. Pius Odubu as Chairman of the Board followed by the nominee for the position of Managing Director, Bernard Okumagba.

The Senate also confirmed the nominee for the position of Executive Director Finance and Administration, Maxwell Okoh from Bayelsa State.

Others confirmed by the red chamber include Delta State representative, Prophet Jones Erue; Chief Victor Ekhator (Edo State) and Nwogu Nwogu (Abia State).

Others are Theodore Allison, representing Bayelsa State, Victor Antai (Akwa Ibom); Maurice Effiwatt (Cross River State); Olugbenga Elema (Ondo State); and Uchegbu Chidiebere Kyrian (Imo State).

The rest are the North-East representative, Ardo Zubairu from Adamawa State and Ambassador Abdullahi Bage from Nasarawa State to represent the North Central geopolitical zone and the North-West representative, Aisha Murtala Muhammed, from Kano State.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here